How Do Lists Function?

A Listrak list stores contacts and their profile data and allows you to message these contacts using Listrak Conductor or by sending a broadcast message. Lists in Listrak are often associated with the specific types of actions a contact can take on your site, for example, contacts are added to a Master List when signing up via a subscription point on your website and opting into your marketing program, or to a Post Purchase list after making a purchase.

Do I Need to Create a List?

If you are working with the Professional Services team to launch your Listrak solutions, the team will create lists for you. However, you may need to create a new list if you have a group of contacts that you want to message entirely differently than another group. Creating a new list allows you to manage this group of contacts separately than subscribers on your Master List, for example.

Common examples of new lists include:

📄 Internal Employees

📃 Recall information

📄 Order and Shipping Delay Notifications

If the contacts you wish to target, share some common traits, such as having opted into your marketing program, you can use a list's segmentation capabilities to send emails to a group of contacts on a list who meet criteria for a specific send.

For example, on the Master List, all contacts share an interest in your marketing program. You can use email engagement metrics to identify actively engaged contacts or past purchase data to identify those who are interested in type of products.

Learn more about managing list using these different functions:


Create a New List

Navigate to Manage > Lists > List Manager.

💡 If the Manage tab does not appear in your navigation, contact your Account Manager to update your Listrak permissions.

  1. Click New List.

  2. Name your list.

  3. If desired, select a folder to save your list in.

  4. Click Create.


Favoriting a List

Favoriting a list allows the list to always appear at the top of the list navigation drop-down in the Listrak platform. This provides an quick and easy way to access lists you often use.

Navigate to Manage > Lists > List Manager.

  1. Click on the 3 dots next to the subscriber count of the desired list.

  2. In the menu, select Favorite.


Deleting a List

If a list is no longer needed, you can delete the list.

⚠️ Deleting a list will delete all contact records and profile information for contacts on the list. If a contact is also subscribed to another list that information will still be available in Listrak.

Navigate to Manage > Lists > List Manager.

  1. Click on the 3 dots next to the subscriber count of the desired list.

  2. In the menu, select Delete.

  3. Confirm you would like to delete the list.

💡 You cannot delete the list you were on prior to navigating to the list manager. To delete this list, navigate to a different list and then return to the manager.


Restore a Deleted List

A deleted list can be restored up to 30 days after deleting it. After 30 days all data associated with the list is purged from the Listrak system.

Navigate to Manage > Lists > List Manager.

At the bottom of the page, click Restore List next to the list you wish to restore.

Confirm you wish to restore the list. It will now be available in the same location (e.g. in the Automated Campaign folder) as it was prior to deletion.


Managing Folders

Folders help organize your lists by type, domain, or other organizational methods based on your goals.

Create a New Folder

You can create a new folder if you identify a new need.

Click on the New Folder button at the top of the List Manager.

  1. Name your folder.

  2. Select a list to add to the folder.

    💡 To add more than one list to the folder, follow the section below to add these additional lists.

Adding a List to a Folder

  1. Click on the 3 dots next to the list.

  2. Select Rename/Move.

  3. In the popup, select the folder from the drop-down menu.

Renaming a Folder

  1. To rename a folder, hover over the folder bar in the List Manager.

  2. Click on the Rename button that appears.

  3. In the pop-up add the new name.


Understanding Suppression Lists

What is a Suppression List?

Suppression lists are another type of lists that can be created on Listrak's List Manager page. A Suppression List can be tied to a list or multiple lists in Listrak. When this occurs, if a contact unsubscribes from the tied list, they will be unable to resubscribe to the selected list. If multiple lists are tied to the same suppression list, a contact will be unsubscribed from all lists tied to the suppression list.

Do I Need a Suppression List?

Suppression lists are only necessary if a contact should be unsubscribed permanently from a list and not be allowed to resubscribe or if a contact should be unsubscribed from multiple lists at a time. This may occur if a contact should be unsubscribe from all of your associated brands, for example.

While Listrak supports suppression lists for your marketing needs, it is not a common need for most clients.

Create a Suppression List

Navigate to Manage > Lists > List Manager.

  1. Click New Suppression List.

  2. Name your list.

  3. If desired, select a folder to save your list in.

  4. Click Create.

    💡 A default suppression list is created to all accounts. It is not active until tied to a list. Learn more below.

Tie a Suppression List to Another Listrak List

  1. Click on the 3 dots next to the desired list in the List Manager.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. In the Subscription Management section, check the box next to the suppression list in the Which suppression lists should this list be controlled by? area.

  4. Click Commit Changes at the bottom of the page.

  5. Navigate back to the List Manager and repeat steps 1-4 to tie additional lists to the suppression list.

Did this answer your question?