Often you will send an initial email and later to choose to re-send the same email to contacts who have not engaged or taken a certain action.

Common types of resends include:

  • Multi-pass, or re-send to non-openers

  • Re-send to non-clickers

  • Re-send to non-purchasers

To re-send a message you will need to identify two groups of contacts 1) contacts who received the initial email and 2) contacts who took the desired action and should not receive the re-send of the email.

Identifying Contacts Who Received the Email

The first step is determining the contacts who received the initial email. Taking this step removes contacts who are counted in the bounce column. Contacts who have unsubscribed since the initial email was sent will also be excluded.

1. Navigate to the Message Activity Report under Activity > Message Analytics > Message Activity.

2. Locate the specific message.

💡 Adjust the report filtering options to locate the correct message

3. Click on the underlined delivered count in the row for the desired message.

4. Adjust the timeframe of the delivered report, if necessary.

⚠️ The report shows emails delivered in the last 4 days by default. Adjust the timeframe to include the day the message was sent.

5. On the Message Delivery screen, click on the blue person icon for add/update profile data in the top right corner.

Adding Data to a Contact's Profile Field

The next set of steps allows you to create a profile field group or profile field that contains an indicator that a contact received a specific email. If a profile field is re-used the data in the field would be overwritten with the new data.

For best results, create a profile field group that can be easily identified, such as Resend. Then, each time you re-send an email create a new profile field that can be defined, such as the date the email will be re-sent. This will place all re-send data in a single group that can be easily found, but create a unique identifier for each re-send.

If you have never created a profile field group for resends follow these steps:

1. Select <Add Field Group>

2. Give the new field group a name and click Add

3. In the field group dropdown select <Add New Attribute>

4. Select Checkbox as the data type

5. Give the field a name and click Add.

If you have already created the field group, select that field group and then follow steps 3-5.

Confirm your settings and Save.

The contacts who received the email will now have a new profile field added into their profile with a checked box. You can view the status of this process in the Progress Monitor in the Home menu.

Identifying the Contacts Who Took an Action

The second step in the process is to identify the contacts who took a specific action in an email. This allows to later exclude these contacts from the re-send because they already took the action.

The following example identifies contacts who opened the specific email. You can use any additional engagement or purchase metric that is underlined in an analytics report.

1. Navigate to the Message Activity Report under Activity > Message Analytics > Message Activity.

💡 You can use additional engagement metrics (such as clicks) on the Message Activity Report or exclude Purchasers by navigating to the Conversion Dashboard.

2. Locate the specific message.

💡 Adjust the report filtering options to locate the correct message

3. Click on the underlined open count in the row for the desired message.

4. Adjust the timeframe of the delivered report, if necessary.

⚠️ The report shows emails delivered in the last 4 days by default. Adjust the timeframe to include all days since the message was sent.

5. On the Message Delivery screen, click on the blue person icon for add/update profile data in the top right corner.

Adding Data to a Contact's Profile Field

The next set of steps allows you to create a profile field group or profile field that contains an indicator that a contact opened a specific email. If a profile field is re-used the data in the field would be overwritten with the new data. In this example the indicator will be added to the Resend field group created above.

1. Select Resend

2. In the field dropdown select <Add New Attribute>

3. Select Checkbox as the data type

4. Give the field a name and click Add.

💡 Name the filed something easily identifiable, such as opened8.16.2021

Confirm your settings and Save.

Setting Up the Re-Send Email

Now that the two groups of contacts have been identified and flagged in their profile, you can set up the re-send email to send to all of those who received the initial send except those who have already taken the desired action.

1. Open the initial email or the new email you wish to send.

💡 Override the existing segmentation in the initial email or use the Save As feature to create a new version of the email.

2. Scroll to the section where you can update the segmentation.

In the Legacy Filter Settings:

  1. Click Edit Filter

  2. Select the And Operator.

  3. From the Criteria drop-down, select Profile Field Groups

  4. Then select the field group where you saved the fields.

  5. Select the specific field for those who received the message.

  6. In the options box, select Is Checked.

  7. Click Update.

  8. Click New Filter.

  9. From the Criteria drop-down, select Profile Field Groups

  10. Then select the field group where you saved the field.

  11. Select the specific field for those who took action the message.

  12. In the options box, select Is Not Checked.

  13. Click Update and Apply Filter.

In New Filter:

1. Select One-Time Filter.

2. Click Add Filter.

3. In the drop-down, select Profile Fields from the Contact Attributes section.

4. Select the specific profile field for those who received the message.

5. From the operator drop-down, select Is Checked.

6. Click Add Rule.

7. In the drop-down, select Profile Fields from the Contact Attributes section.

8. Select the specific profile field for those who took action on the message.

9. From the operator drop-down, select Is Not Checked.

10. Apply Filter.

Once your filter is applied you can continue scheduling the message or make any desired changes, such as updating the subject line.

Did this answer your question?